Things I Have Learned About Love

 

Love is not scripted. There is no specific way to love. You don’t need to wait 3 dates to have sex or wait 3 days to text back, you don’t need to call each other boyfriend and girlfriend, and you don’t need to get married. Society has placed so many factors upon us that determine whether or not your relationship is real or not, and we try to fit ourselves and our relationships into a cookie cutter version of what we are told our love life should look like.

Don’t suppress love. You should never, ever, downplay how much you care about other people. Don’t be afraid to shower everyone in your life with love and especially your romantic partner. If you are reprimanded for loving, you need to look elsewhere to shine your love. Our time on this planet is short and we need to be able to fully express our love for one another.

You don’t need love. It is a bonus to your life, but it is not life. Too many times have I been swept away by someone who I regarded as my entire world. I thought that without them, I was nothing and I tore away at myself until I really was nothing. Need not rely on someone, but take them as a wonderful gift in life. We don’t need romantic love because we have divine love.

You don’t need anything from love. I often pictured myself with a certain someone, someone whose personality matched mine and I could feed off of. I believed I needed a certain person to become my most powerful self. This is false, we are the only ones we need to raise ourselves to the highest level. A romantic relationship is a way to practice giving and receiving love. I don’t need anything from my relationship other than to give and experience love. In giving love, we receive the greatest joy.

Leave a comment